Building Trust (in five easy steps)

One of the cornerstones of my position this year is building and maintaining solid relationships with the people I coach. This means that a lot of the learning I’ve done over the past six months has been how to do this. For this post, I thought I’d put together a short list of actionable items we can incorporate into our days that encourage positive relationships.

One of the best books I’ve read this year is The Code of Trust by Robin Dreeke, who puts forth the idea that trust is the most essential part of a relationship. As an FBI lifer who recruited and trained spies, Dreeke came up with five rules to gain trust and be a leader.

  • Suspend your ego. I’m not going to lie, this one is hard for me. Dreeke has a line that he uses throughout the book that I’ve found helpful: it’s all about them. People want to talk about themselves, the things they’re good at and the struggles they have.
    • To turn this into something tangible that can be practiced, start taking note of how people react when you make the conversation entirely about them. When someone walks away from a conversation feeling good, they’ll come back for more, which continues to build the relationship.
  • Be non-judgemental. We judge. It’s in our nature not just as teachers but as people. However, trust will never be formed if someone feels like you’re judging them. They won’t approach you to share ideas or to get help with problems.
    • Something to try: Replace your “why questions” with “whats” and “hows”. Why is inherently judgemental and can make feel like they’re being interrogated. Compare, “why were you late?” with, “what happened that caused you to be late?” The second question takes the emphasis off the person and puts it on the situation. This leads to a better, more honest conversation.
  • Validate others. Praise is essential and people will trust those who see the good in them.
    • This one is easy to practice: praise the people around you (bonus points if you find a person you don’t really know on staff and dig deep to find reasons to praise).  Be conscious though, that the purpose of praise is to identify positive behaviors and get people to continue them. So false praise will get people to continue negative behaviors.
  • Honor reason. I like this one for its simplicity. Dreeke says, “Stick to the facts and be honest…Trust inspired by mere emotionalism lasts only as long as the next emotion.” Relationships built around exaggeration, debate, manipulation, or coercion cannot, by their nature, last. Once the trust is breached the relationship suffers.
    • To practice this one, be honest and open with people. If you exaggerate often (I do it practically ALL the time), try to keep that in check because exaggeration isn’t ever truthful and will eventually cause people to question what you say.
  • Be generous. As Dreeke puts it, “selfishness repels, generosity attracts.” This doesn’t have to be strictly material: be generous with your time, your effort, your patience, your praise. Generosity with one person can sometimes endear you to an entire group.
    • I think this is one that teachers are great at with their students. Think of a teacher saying yes when their students ask to continue with the read-aloud or ask for help with a math problem. Teaching is a generous profession, so how can you extend that to colleagues? Maybe covering a supervision for the stressed out teacher across the hall, or stacking the dishes for the teacher on staff-room clean up.

Here’s my challenge to you: pick one and go deep with it over the next few weeks. Comment on what did or didn’t work. Do you feel like you do one of these very well? If so, tell us what you do. I bet you’ll get some praise.  Is one of these something you struggle with? Tell us about it (vulnerability is a key to building rapport…).

If you’re interested, here are the books I based all this on: The Code of Trust by Robin Dreeke and Ask Powerful Questions by Will Wise. I highly recommend both of these books!

20 thoughts on “Building Trust (in five easy steps)

  1. Danny you have really nailed it! The one thing I notice when you are working with our teachers is that you are truly there to improve their practice. You are building them up and giving the soft nudges forwards. Having them reflect on their practice rather then correcting them. This is how you have build trust with our new teachers and why they feel safe sharing their ideas and struggles. They know you will support them not judge them. Teachers need to feel like they can be risk takers; naturally failure could happen!

    Like

  2. olearygpcsd

    Lee, you’ve clearly chosen “validate others”…and it’s totally working, I absolutely trust you now (haha)! Thank you for the kind words. I think it’s simple in my role because I’m a teacher helping my colleagues. Something I’m wondering about is how do you build that trust in the teacher/principal relationship where there’s a clear power dynamic in the relationship?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. rmcdonald15

    Great job Danny! These are easy to try and follow through! I like the challenge to pick one and work on it for the next couple of weeks.
    I will let you know how it works out.
    Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Sabrina Fentie

    I really enjoyed reading your post, Danny. I appreciate how you have broken down the 5 rules into challenging, yet attainable relationship building goals we can all achieve.

    It is very evident that you are truly passionate about your position as you continuously challenge yourself and our teachers to meet and exceed their own expectations.

    You live this model. You communicate positive comments to our staff, you inform us in advance when you will be visiting, you open up discussion with all staff during breaks, you are always flexible, available and willing to accomodate. You, Rochelle & Jessie have been so helpful in being another resource that staff members can go to – you are all helping to ease some of our challenges and pushing us to our true potential. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!

    As Rochelle had commented, I too appreciate your challenge of picking one of the rules and consciously putting forward an effort to do better at it. When I attended the Assessment Consortium a few years ago, Dylan Wiliam said something similar. This has always stuck with me. I continuously need to remind myself to pick ONE thing and focus on it, rather than trying too many and not being successful at any.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. olearygpcsd

      Thanks, Sabrina! Your staff is so easy to work with, there’s a great culture in your building.
      I’m curious about which one you’ll go with, keep us posted!

      Like

      1. Sabrina Fentie

        I am going to work on being non-judgmental. I will focus on my communication with staff at all times, and especially when having the hard conversations, doing formal observations, completing and discussing evaluations, etc. I will focus on non-judgmental communication with students. When I became “Principal” some of the strong relationships I had with students changed. Regardless of title, it is important for me to work on my communication so that students know that I genuinely love and care for them, and that I will always support them.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I am going to check out “The Code of Trust”.
    Judging. This is something I need to “reframe” as per the instructions in your post. I lose patience with adults in our profession who supply a weak “why”. Asking “how” and “what” instead of “why” would help me with this. Here is a question: What is the difference between “judging” and “evaluating” when it comes to certain administrative duties?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. olearygpcsd

      Definitely check out The Check of Trust, I would loan it to you but I only have the ebook.
      As for your question, I think the difference between judging and evaluating (in any setting, not just education) is the mindset behind the words. Judging is pointing out flaws and the outcome is typically punitive in nature. Evaluating is finding positives to highlight and looking for ways to correct the negative. So its outcomes are collaborative and lead to growth.
      For most teachers, when we have someone in our classes evaluating, we feel that we are being judged. So for an evaluation to be truly effective (in that it leads to growth), both parties have to believe that there is no judgment involved. The evaluator is the one that has to get that conversation started.
      What does everyone else think? Think about past evaluations, what led to positive experiences? What about negative ones?

      Like

  6. Genevieve Payeur

    Danny – I really appreciated the article you wrote. What really sticks with me are those 5 points and how they are not only reflective of good leadership skills but how we should govern our lives on a daily basis. Be generous, don’t exaggerate, suspend your ego, be non-judgmental (don’t judge my spelling especially!) and honor reason. Treat others as you would like to be treated… I’m definitely getting my hands on The Code of Trust.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. micheleholycross

    Very well stated Danny. I am working on a few of these points and have already found success. Imagine the long term possibilities. Thank you for your words of wisdom, you are wise beyond your years.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. olearygpcsd

      Thanks, Michele. I kind of laughed at your “wise beyond your years” comment. I immediately flashed back to last night when I nearly woke the kids by celebrating too hard after beating a video game boss. #NotSoWise 🙂

      Like

  8. I am challenging myself to build trust by having more open & sometimes “hard” conversations with both my admin and my practicum student. One of the tactics I have been using is getting rid of the why and starting with what and how’s. Just rephrasing the question opens up the conversation and breaks down the wall. The area I need to continue to work on is suspending my ego. Thank you for this blog Danny!

    Like

  9. mrsamandarich

    Loved how you summarized it into five key points to remember. It is fresh in our memorizes right now but what will happen in a month or two. It is good to have key points to refer back to and reflect on.

    Like

  10. Danny – loved the post and how easy it can be to implement the 5 rules into my own practice. I’m concentrating on replacing the “why” with “what”, “how” and “tell me about”. I don’t feel like I’m a “judgy” person, but I agree with Kristie – it totally helps to break down that wall and promote reflective conversations. Sounds like the book is a must read!

    Like

  11. Kim Jamieson-Henry

    Excellent post! A book that I find myself adding to my must read list. I will take your challenge and choose “Be Generous”. It is not that I struggle in this area so much, as that my area is very much where my physical space is located. Proximity can most definitely play a part. I will focus on venturing further from my classroom on a more regular basis.

    Like

  12. Thanks Danny! I also enjoyed how you broke it into steps that we can all easily put into action. I don’t really like the sound of the “Suspend your Ego” point. However, I know that I often talk too much. I feel like the one I need to work on most is listening more and making the conversation about them. I get excited and carried away when I’m passionate about something, but I want to focus on being a more excited listener too. Reading through them all it’s easy to see which ones you are doing well and which can use a little tweaking.

    Like

  13. Loved your post, Danny! I too am going to have to add “The Code of Trust” to my reading list. I myself am going to focus on making conversations entirely about others. I have had colleagues do the same for me and I always feel comfortable going to them when I am in need. I definitely want to be that for others in my building! Thanks for this!

    Like

  14. Lemar Borstad

    Great post Danny! I feel that these five rules to build trust and be a positive leader are great! It made me reflect on what I’m doing in the profession already and what I need to work on.
    The two that stuck with me are; Honor reason and Be generous. For me to ‘Honor reason’ is something that I feel I do well but made me reflect on the use of exaggeration and how it can be negative to building trustful relationships. When I reflect on ‘Be generous’, I feel I am very generous with my time to help fellow colleagues and the students I teach. I would like to become more generous in ways to help colleagues by sharing my teaching ideas/resources in a more effective way. For the last week of school before the Easter break I made it a goal to share more resources and I felt great relationship building happened!

    Like

  15. Sherry Wishnowski

    Great job Danny.
    another great book is called Leadership Mindsets by Kaser and Halbert. There is a great chapter on building trusting relationships, that I repeatedly go back and reread. Daniel Goleman also has several books on Emotional Intelligence that are helpful with building relationships as well.

    Like

Leave a comment